Reading Time:

1 minute

Wound Types

Wounds can be classified in three types:

Primary Intention: It refers to a primary closure such as a surgical closure or whenever closure through skin approximation can be achieved.

Secondary Intention: It refers to wounds where skin approximation is not possible. Wound healing takes place with an open wound through granulation (pink and reddish granules) and subsequent epithelialization. Wound dressings are applied during secondary intention wound healing to absorb, exudate, and maintain an adequate environment. Wound drainage is normally undertaken.

Third Intention: It refers to open wounds with delayed closure because of partial trauma, contamination, or infection. Closure is performed after about five days of cleaning, treating, and monitoring the wound. At that point, the process is carried on like in the primary intention case, through skin approximation.

Leave a Reply

If you would also like a response sent to your email please add it in the email box below.